translate

Web Resources

Key places for Resources on Web accessibility

  1. A guide to understanding and implementing Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0: https://www.w3.org/TR/UNDERSTANDING-WCAG20/complete.html
  2. WebAIM, Articles & Resources: http://webaim.org/articles/, http://webaim.org/resources/
  3. The Paciello Group Resources: https://www.paciellogroup.com/resources/
  4. WebAxe blog and podcast on web accessibility: http://www.webaxe.org

 

Additional information for non-text content

  1. NBA Tape Recording Manual, National Library Service for the Blind & Physically Handicapped, Library of Congress, Washington, DC. Excerpts from the 3rd edition available online: https://www.w3.org/2000/08/nba-manual/Overview.html.
  2. National Center for Accessible Media (NCAM), Accessible Digital Media Guidelines: http://ncam.wgbh.org/invent_build/web_multimedia/accessible-digital-medi....

Access to time-based and synchronized media

  1. Captioning Key – Guidelines and Preferred Techniques: http://www.captioningkey.org/quality_captioning.html
  2. Best Practices in Online Captioning: https://joeclark.org/access/captioning/bpoc/
  3. uiAccess list of Transcription Services. Url: http://www.uiaccess.com/transcripts/transcript_services.html
  4. Synchronized Multimedia Integration Language (SMIL 3.0): https://www.w3.org/TR/SMIL/
  5. WebAIM, Captions, Transcripts, and Audio Descriptions: http://webaim.org/techniques/captions/
  6. WebAIM, Real-time Captioning: http://webaim.org/techniques/captions/realtime
  7. Joe Clark, Standard techniques in audio description: https://joeclark.org/access/description/ad-principles.html
  8. National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD), American Sign Language: https://www.nidcd.nih.gov/health/american-sign-language
  9. University of Hamburg, Techniques for filming sign language interpreters: http://www.sign-lang.uni-hamburg.de/signingbooks/sbrc/grid/d71/guide12.htm
  10. Action on Hearing Loss (formal Royal National Institute for Deaf People - RNID), Communication Factsheets: https://www.actiononhearingloss.org.uk/supporting-you/factsheets-and-leaflets/communication.aspx

Adaptable, Distinguishable and Understandable Content

  1. WebAIM, Semantic Structure: http://webaim.org/techniques/semanticstructure/
  2. Accessibility and Usability at Penn State, Heading Tags: http://accessibility.psu.edu/headingshtml/
  3. Vischeck software for colorblind vision simulation and Daltonize software for correcting images for colorblind viewers: http://www.vischeck.com/
  4. Microsoft, Can color-blind users see your site?: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb263953.aspx
  5. Causes and Incidence of Colorblindness: http://www.webexhibits.org/causesofcolor/2C.html
  6. M. Okabe, K. Ito. Color Universal Design (CUD) – How to make figures and presentations that are friendly to Colorblind people: http://jfly.iam.u-tokyo.ac.jp/color/
  7. T. Jewett. The Color Tutor demonstration: http://www.tomjewett.com/colors/tutor.html
  8. The Paciello Group, Colour Contrast Analyser: https://www.paciellogroup.com/resources/contrastanalyser/
  9. Colour Contrast Analyser Firefox Extension: http://juicystudio.com/article/colour-contrast-analyser-firefox-extension.php
  10. Colors on the Web, Color Contrast Analyser: http://www.colorsontheweb.com/Color-Tools/Color-Contrast-Analyzer
  11. Colour Contrast Check: https://snook.ca/technical/colour_contrast/colour.html#fg=33FF33,bg=333333
  12. Color Contrast Ratio Calculator: http://www.msfw.com/Services/ContrastRatioCalculator
  13. C. Lilley. Atypical Color Response: https://www.w3.org/Graphics/atypical-color-response
  14. W3C Cascading Style Sheets (CSS 2.2): https://www.w3.org/TR/CSS22/
  15. Accessible CSS: https://cookiecrook.com/AIR/2003/train/accessiblecss.php
  16. 6 Surprising Bad Practices that hurt Dyslexic users: http://uxmovement.com/content/6-surprising-bad-practices-that-hurt-dyslexic-users/
  17. Accessites, Designing for Dyslexics: http://accessites.org/site/2006/11/designing-for-dyslexics-part-3-of-3
  18. L. Penney. Typefaces for Dyslexia: http://www.iansyst.co.uk/articles/article/articles/2012/10/18/fonts-for-dyslexia
  19. Davis Dyslexia Association International, About Dyslexia: https://www.dyslexia.com/about-dyslexia/
  20. R. Weakley. Ideal line length for content: http://maxdesign.com.au/articles/em/
  21. Developing sites for users with Cognitive disabilities and learning difficulties: http://juicystudio.com/article/cognitive-impairment.php
  22. P.M. Jones. Line Length, Volume and Density: http://paul-m-jones.com/archives/276
  23. The National Archives, Office for Disability Issues. A guide to accessible publishing: http://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/20130703134050/http://odi.dwp.gov.uk/inclusive-communications/channels/publishing.php

 

Avoiding Seizures

  1. Cambridge Research Systems, The Harding FPA suite to test Flashing and Spatial Patterns in Broadcast Video: http://www.hardingfpa.com/
  2. University of Maryland, Photosensitive Epilepsy Analysis Tool: http://trace.umd.edu/peat
  3. Epilepsy Action, Advice and information: https://www.epilepsy.org.uk/info
  4. Epilepsy Foundation, Photosensitivity and Seizures: http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/triggers-seizures/photosensitivity-and-seizures

 

Navigable Web

  1. Writing better web page titles: https://www.socialpatterns.com/search-engine-optimization/writing-better-titles/
  2. M.F. Theofanos, J. Redish. Guidelines for Accessible and Usable Web Sites: observing users who work with screen readers: http://redish.net/images/stories/PDF/interactions.html
  3. J. Nielsen. Using the Title Attribute to help users predict where they are going: https://www.nngroup.com/articles/title-attribute/
  4. WebAIM, Links and Hypertext: http://webaim.org/techniques/hypertext/
  5. J. Nielsen. How users read on the Web: https://www.nngroup.com/articles/how-users-read-on-the-web/
  6. J. Nielsen, J. Morkes. Applying writing guidelines to Web pages: https://www.nngroup.com/articles/applying-writing-guidelines-web-pages/
  7. The sound of the accessible title text separator: http://www.standards-schmandards.com/2004/title-text-separators/

Readable Content

  1. W3C Internationalization, Language tags in HTML: https://www.w3.org/International/articles/language-tags/index.en
  2. W3C, Authoring HTML: Language declarations: https://www.w3.org/TR/i18n-html-tech-lang/
  3. World Star Translators, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias: http://www.stars21.com/
  4. FreeDict, Free bilingual dictionaries: http://www.freedict.org/en/
  5. Acronym Finder: http://www.acronymfinder.com/
  6. Abbreviations: http://www.abbreviations.com/
  7. Plain Language Association International, Plain Language: http://plainlanguagenetwork.org/plain-language/what-is-plain-language/
  8. The US Government’s plain language guideline: http://www.plainlanguage.gov/howto/guidelines/FederalPLGuidelines/index.cfm?CFID=7500077&CFTOKEN=69db6a9427664826-81DAC037-FC1B-3911-2EC0A7593A656D91&jsessionid=1922DD3CA1A6FD5F3FAE5F1560623AEF.chh
  9. Plain English Campaign: http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/
  10. Readability Test: http://juicystudio.com/services/readability.php
  11. Dublin Core Qualifiers: http://dublincore.org/documents/usageguide/qualifiers.shtml
  12. IMS Global, Accessibility learner information data structure description: http://www.imsglobal.org/profiles/lipinfo01.html#tab6.3
  13. TextQuest, Readability analysis: http://www.textquest.de/pages/en/analysis-of-texts/readability-analysis.php?lang=EN
  14. Leesbaar Nederlands (Readable Dutch): http://www.leesbaarnederlands.nl/
  15. Flesch-Kincaid readability tests: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flesch%E2%80%93Kincaid_readability_tests
  16. European standards for making information easy to read and understand: http://easy-to-read.eu/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/EN_Information_for_all.pdf
  17. W3C Quality Assurance, Use standard redirects: don’t break the back button: https://www.w3.org/QA/Tips/reback
  18. W3C HTTP Protocol – Redirection: https://www.w3.org/Protocols/rfc2616/rfc2616-sec10.html#sec10.3

Maximize compatibility

  1. W3C, Dynamic Accessible Web Content Roadmap: https://www.w3.org/WAI/PF/roadmap/DHTMLRoadmap040506.html
  2. W3C, Role Taxonomy for Accessible Adaptable Applications: https://www.w3.org/WAI/PF/GUI/roleTaxonomy-20060508.html
  3. W3C, States and Adaptable Properties Module: https://www.w3.org/WAI/PF/adaptable/StatesAndProperties-20051106.html
  4. Microsoft Active Accessibility: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms697707.aspx
  5. Adobe Flash accessibility design guidelines: http://www.adobe.com/accessibility.htmlproducts/flash/best-practices.html

 

If you know of other Key documents we should consider please use feature at bottom of page to send us information about it.